Wednesday, May 22, 2024
Times of Georgia
HomeWorldTanya Egerton Wins Northern Territory AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award

Tanya Egerton Wins Northern Territory AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award

Tanya Egerton has been named the winner of the 2024
Northern Territory AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award for her
sustainable, ethical, and culturally-focused Indigenous
enterprise, the Remote OpShop Project.

Ms Egerton
accepted the Award last night at a ceremony presented by
Northern Territory Chief Minister, Hon. Eva

The AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award,
supported by platinum sponsor Westpac, is Australia’s
leading Award in acknowledging and supporting the critical
role women play in rural and regional businesses, industries
and communities. It is an opportunity to celebrate the
forward-thinking, courageous leaders who come from
industries that represent some of the most vast and remote
areas of Northern Territory.

Ms Egerton received a
$15,000 grant from Westpac to further support her project as
well as the opportunity to undertake a professional
development course of her choosing. Ms Egerton will go on to
represent Northern Territory at the AgriFutures Rural
Women’s Award Gala Dinner and National Announcement in
Canberra later in the year, where the National Winner will
be awarded an additional $20,000 Westpac grant and the
National Runner Up, an additional $15,000.

Ms Egerton,
founder and CEO of Circulanation and the Remote OpShop
Project, supporting the establishment of opshops in remote
First Nations communities, providing access to affordable
items, while generating independent funding that supports
culturally-focused projects.

“My goal is to empower
more local people to lead these community-owned and operated
opshops, so they can drive better outcomes for their
communities and the environment by participating in the
circular economy,” Ms Egerton said.

Advertisement – scroll to continue reading

“The Remote
OpShop Project is developing a reuse and recycling hub
ensuring high-quality, affordable goods are redirected from
landfill and redistributed to remote First Nations
communities, and thanks to the AgriFutures Rural Women’s
Award, we will be able to scale with the development of a
First Nations Leadership Council that will oversee this
game-changing project.”

Quotes attributable to
Minister for Agribusiness and Fisheries, Mark

“What a fantastic achievement for Tanya.
Women play an important role in our Agribusiness industry
and it is important that their contributions are recognised
by AgriFutures Australia. I would also like to acknowledge
all of the finalists and their projects, each of which will
play significant roles in their local

“Primary industries play a vital part
in our efforts to grow the Territory’s economy to $40
billion by 2030, supporting these awards and recognising the
achievements of these women will help to foster and
encourage future leaders of the sector.”

Australia Managing Director, John Harvey said the
AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award provides women with a
critical platform to bring to life game-changing, inspiring
and impactful change across rural and regional

“These Awards celebrate women who are not
only having a real impact on their communities today, but
are laying the foundations to inspire other young,
determined and forward-thinking female leaders working in
rural, regional and remote communities,” Mr Harvey

“We are thrilled to support the future-shaping
work these women are carrying out in their communities and
importantly, providing them with the support and leadership
skills to keep building towards a stronger regional

Brad Higgins, NT Regional General
Manager, Regional & Agribusiness for platinum sponsor
Westpac, also commended Ms Egerton for being awarded the
title of Territory finalist.

“Congratulations to
Tanya for being awarded a Territory finalist title for this
year’s AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award. Like the many
Rural Women’s Award winners and alumni before her, she
represents a new generation of industry pioneers whose
knowledge and expertise give life to new opportunities for
business and local rural communities,” said

Congratulations to all Northern Territory
finalists, including Rayleen Brown, Rebecca Forrest, and
Rashida Khan.

For more information about the Awards,
head to

© Scoop Media

Advertisement – scroll to continue reading


Source link

- Advertisment -
Times of Georgia

Most Popular